Welcome to Armed and Safe firearms training!
FREE Sessions Saturdays:
9-11 am Basic Safety/handling
AND/OR 2-4pm legal issues/retention
OR call (775) 560-2741 - we return all contact within 24 hours!
$60*class for CCW (9am to 5pm) at
choose a class date, then email or call to reserve
$60 NV CCW class because you should not be gouged for your unalienable God-given rights. *Extra $25 for UT or $15 for FL/AZ/OR signoffs. Most classes are at SCHEELS. Classes with "Location TBA" is a Reno classroom closer to the SO and/or range - details will be sent in email confirmation. "FULL" classes: we can add you to a wait list - we usually have cancellations. ALL8-hour classes qualify for NV, UT*, FL* and OR permits,valid for Concealed Carry in 30+ states. We are a Reno-based company operating out of SCHEELS all-sports store. CCW class dates and details on free gun safety class below. * $25 fee for UT or $15 fee for FL sign off .
SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT: FREE CCW training for school employees: Armed & Safe is offering free CCW classes for any school employee who can obtain written permission to carry at work, which is allowed under Nevada law. Company owner and lead instructor(18 years), Kelly Main, is an elementary public school teacher (16 years).
In light of the tragedy in Connecticut, we feel that the publicity of school staff carrying concealed weapons could discourage planned attacks. When seconds count, police are just minutes away. Staff who know the layout of the school and the people on campus would have a better chance of surviving and eliminating the threat to others immediately.
Most schools already have employees who have a CCW permit.
Saturday May 11th $60 (9am to 5:30pm SCHEELS) $50 renewal 12:30-4:30pm
Friday May 17th(8am to 4pm Range classroom)OR(6am-2pm for same day application at SO*)$60
Renewals 9:30-1:30 pm $50
Saturday May 18th $60 (9am to 5:30pm SCHEELS) $50 renewal 12:30-4:30pm
Friday May 24th(8am to 4pm Range classroom)OR(6am-2pm for same day application at SO*)$60
Renewals 9:30-1:30 pm $50
Saturday June 1st $60 (9am to 5:30pm SCHEELS) $50 renewal 12:30-4:30pm
Monday June 3rd (8am to 4pm Range classroom)OR(6am-2pm for same day application at SO*)$60
Renewals 9:30-1:30 pm $50
Saturday June 8th $60 (9am to 5:30pm SCHEELS) $50 renewal 12:30-4:30pm
Winnemucca Range Sunday June 9th $60 (9am to 5:00pm) $50 renewal (11-3pm)
FYI:Humboldt County SO will accept applications BEFORE class
Saturday June 15th $60 (9am to 5:30pm SCHEELS) $50 renewal 12:30-4:30pm
Friday June 21st (8am to 4pm Range classroom)OR(6am-2pm for same day application at SO*)$60
Renewals 9:30-1:30 pm $50
Saturday June 29th $60 (9am to 5:30pm SCHEELS) $50 renewal 12:30-4:30pm
More 2013 dates at bottom of page. Expect to see more weekday classes scheduled as we approach them.
Weekday classes are limited in space. Our weekday classes are on Monday or Fridays, when the county range is open.* Earlier start time of 6am is recommended if you plan to apply the same day. IF you are local, Wendesdays are the BEST day to apply ( they do not accept other background checks except CCW applicants on Wednesday).
NOTE: Nevada permits must be applied for in-person, AFTER class -
WCSO OPEN (Monday - Friday 8am to 4:30pm) FL/UT/AZ applications are mailed in.
What people are saying about Armed and Safe Firearms Training....
The class was well delivered, professional and very organized. Jim was extremely helpful too. I don't have to think twice recommending your class to my friends and family. Jimmy B Reno, NV
The class was very informative. I like the humor between long sessions of law and basics. I also liked the professional range staff. MC Reno, NV
Great class! Instruction was entertaining. Kelly was extremely helpful at the range. AC Fernley, NV
Teachers were great. They kept my attention and made taking this course fun! Very easy to listen to for 8-hours and always safe. AW Reno, NV
Third time taking this course from Armed and Safe and I will never go anywhere else. They make this course fun and entertaining. You guys are the best. Range staff was very professional and Kelly is a great instructor. KL Reno, NV
Kelly is very knowledgeable. Great speaker and knows her stuff! Allan Too :) Gun safety is very important!
IL Reno, NV
I found the class to be very informative. It kept my attention. never day-dreamed :)
SY Fernley, NV
Kelly was an amazing teacher. She combines necessary information with reality... proper amount of life examples. She has great energy and an obvious passion. Allan was very helpful at the range
ML Reno, NV
The instructors were very friendly and kept me engaged. The safety section was very informative and helped me clear up a lot of questions. Great class for beginners and anyone who wants to be more comfortable with firearms.
GK Reno, NV
Tremendous! I learned so much. Thank you.-JH Sparks, NV
Richard was great on the range! Kelly- you are a very thorough instructor - learned soooo much. VH Sparks, NV 1/28/2012
You all did a great job. Kelly you're great :) Richard on the range was a great help. Anonymous
Allan and Kelly were clear and concise about a tremendous amount of information presented in a short period of time. Many thanks! Richard at the range did a fine job. Gave me tips and was very reassuring to my wife who is a novice. Our thanks. MH Sparks, NV
Nevada is a shall issue state. A sheriff must provide a CCW permit to any citizen who takes an 8 hour course from a qualified CCW instructor within the state of Nevada, and who can pass an FBI background check (No felons, domestic violence convictions, restraining orders or recent DUI's). http://www.washoesheriff.com
Nevada course is $60. $50 for renewal.
County Sheriff's office will charge $97.50 for background check and processing. Must apply in person within a year of taking class. For this purpose we offer weekday classes beginning at 7am.
As of July 1st 2011 the Nevada permit will not list semi-auto's. They are one class and you will only need to qualify on one to be able to carry any semi-automatic pistol.States that honor Nevada are shown in Blue. MI honors permits from residents of the issuingstate.AZ and VT do not require a permit to carry concealed within their states. http://handgunlaw.us
Florida If you want to be able to carry in Florida, then you might need this one. Our cost for Florida is an additional $15 when you take the Nevada course. Florida charges $112 through the mail, $102 to renew through the mail. Good for 7 years.
Florida's permit does not list guns so you are not restricted to what is on your permit.
Sates that honor Florida are shown in Blue. MI, CO, SC, PA and NH will honor Florida resident permitees.
Utah is a great permit. It's a near mirror image of Florida. Good for 5 years and only $51 through the mail. For some people Utah seems to fit their needs. Renewal through the mail is $15. Our cost for Utah is an additional $25 when you take the Nevada course. If you choose to add Utah and Florida we charge $35 for the two. Guess which states will only honor residents of Utah.
After class you have a year to apply for NV, UT or FL.
To sit in on any of our classes (all but range session) for FREE, contact us
Arizona Nevada dropped recognition of AZ. For this reason we recomend getting the UT or FL permit if you wish to carry in more than the 24 states that will honor Nevada.
Range fees and all materials are included, BYO ammo - we have it available for sale if you cannot find it (only for qualification, not selling ammo otherwise): .45ACP .40S&W 38Special .380 9mmLuger .380Auto .22 long rifle
SCHEELS is well stocked with defensive ammo.
Contact us by email firstname.lastname@example.org or 775 560-2741, let us know what class you would like and receive confirmation and details by email. Payment is accepted the day of class leaving you the flexibility to cancel. Things happen.
The class covers:
Gun safety and handling, Marksmanship, Cleaning, Safe storage, Transportation, Holster Choice, Retention/Defensive techniques, Concealed-carry techniques, Federal, State(s) and Local laws, Legal and Ethical issues surrounding use of Deadly Force, what to expect/say during and after self-defense, Civil Liability risk, Reciprocity state-to-state, Resources for up-to-date information and Permit application procedures.
Course of Fire is 25-30 rounds at a full silhouette target with all rounds kept in the 8-9-10 rings ( and 8x11 inch area - standard piece of paper) at 7 yards ( 21 feet = self-defense distance). Qualification categories for Nevada are semi-auto and revolver. Our instructor to student ratio is 1:2 on the firing line, 1:1 when needed. We have a perfect safety record!
You must be 21 to apply for a CCW, but those 16-18 are welcome to take the class with special permission of instructors - handguns are generally not appropriate for children under 16 years of age. Minors must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. (Documentation will be required. Call for details.)
Ask us about Full-Auto machine gun shoots.
Relax, you're among friends. Our goal is to give you the best class possible to prepare you to carry a pistol for personal protection in the real world. This is where most of us live and we want you to be ready to defend yourself and your family when trouble comes looking for you. We also want you to avoid trouble by any means available to you. It's nice to carry a gun that you'll never need. Armed and Safe Firearms Training provides the best 8 hour instruction possible as required by the state of Nevada. We’re here to provide this course of training in a professional, fun and relaxed class. We’ve been teaching in Northern Nevada for over 18 years and have helped more citizens get their CCW permits than any other company in the area. People keep coming back to us because they feel comfortable during our class. From the most experienced competition and ex military or law enforcement, to first-time shooters, people tell us that they learned a lot from us in the classroom and on the range.
We are passionate about guns, 2nd Ammendment rights, training and improving your skills by improving our own through the study of shooting fundamentals, defensive pistol techniques, awareness and state and federal laws.
Saturday July 13th Friday July 19th
Saturday July 20th
Saturday July 27th Friday Aug 2nd
Saturday August 3rd
Saturday August 10th
Saturday August 24th Friday Aug 30th
Saturday September 7th
Saturday Sepember 14th
Saturday September 21st Friday Sept 27th
Saturday September 28th
Saturday October 5th Monday Oct 7th
Saturday October 12th Friday Oct 18th
Saturday October 19th Monday Oct 28th
Saturday November 2nd Friday Nov 8th
Saturday November 9th Friday Nov 15th
Saturday November 16th
Sunday November 24th Monday Nov 25th
Friday Dec 6th
Saturday December 7th Friday Dec 13th
Saturday Decmber 14th
Saturday Decmber 21st Monday Dec 30th